Good morning:

20111220-093645.jpg

I am not a morning person. But I have to be. My job demands that I awaken before the sun, an often painstaking experience in the autumn and winter months. It’s not so terrible in the summer when the sun pulls me from slumber and I am able climb out of the sheets in very much the same way the sun climbs over the horizon. But on mornings alone, when the sun still hides from me under its blanket of earth, it is nothing short of a chore to force myself to take the first step out from the heat of my bed and plant my still sleeping toes onto the itchy carpet.

Oftentimes, the snooze button gets pushed more than once. And on more than one occasion I’ve been forced to get ready in less than fifteen minutes, which has nearly developed into a point of pride for me, a well-refined skill that has been perfected over months upon months of practice. I shutter thinking of the stress brought by hurried mornings; the sense of panic that ensues upon realizing the clock is ticking a little too quickly is one of my least favorite feelings and one I invite to visit all too frequently.

But the moment the sun first peeks over the mountains, shining through the right side of my bay window, that moment is worth waking up for. The freshness of a new day pours over me, a reminder of new opportunities coming my way, promises of moments of laughter, perhaps a home-cooked meal, meaningful conversations that will resonate within my soul, memories I know will be formed and impressed in my mind for the remainder of my life, opportunities to share with those I know and love, and those I’ve just met, the greatest joy I know: the love of my Savior.

This is the day the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it.

And I awaken ready to face the challenges and enjoy the pleasures the day is sure to bring. Because—look! The sun is up again, my God is faithful.

Sincerely,
Kendra Leigh

Leave a Reply

