The Uniform Project

Have you ever heard of the Uniform Project? The founder Sheena Matheiken decided that should could use fashion as an outlet for fund-raising. Her idea? Wear one little black dress everyday for an entire year, while making it look like a completely different outfit everyday– and those who found it awesome donated to her cause. After receiving globs of media attention, Sheena raised $103,374 for the Akanksha Foundation, a non-profit organization that provides education to kids living in Indian Slums.

Now that it is year two, the U.P. is accepting Pilots: people to do the challenge for one month. 1 dress. 1 month. 1 cause. I loooove this idea. I sent them an email telling them about Rapha House and that I wanted to participate in its honor. I received a reply this morning requesting that I send pictures of me in a little black dress worn five different ways and answer some questions. I don’t own a little black dress, so I’ll have to find one. But I am beyond stoked! Pray that they accept me as a pilot.

Love,
Kendra Leigh Worsnup

3 comments
  1. papa said:

    I don’t look good in black dresses.

    Love,
    papa

  2. I am a HUGE fan of The U.P.!!! I caught the last few months of year 1 and check the pilots daily. It’s such a fantastic idea, and I love that it’s for more than admiring cool fashion. I hope you get to participate in one of the pilots. I have been wanting to do a month as well, but I need to find a new LBD – I accidentally burned mine on the iron about a month ago. It stinks too because it would have been a perfect dress for U.P. Good luck Kendra! :D

Leave a Reply

