The Anti-Peter-Pan Syndrome

Ever since I can remember, I’ve been anxious to grow up. When I was really little I used to pretend I was a realtor because that’s what my Aunt did, that was an adult thing to do, so I had to do it. I would dream about being married, about going to college, about having my own car, my own house, my own dog. I would imagine the day I would be as tall as my mom (unfortunately, this never will happen.) I would even type on my computer, careful to make only my nails hit the keys, so it would make the same noise that the big-girls-with-fake-nails-who-worked-behind-the-desks-at-every-office made. I’ve always been too busy worrying about what’s next.

I’m a planner. I always have been. And although that helps me accomplish a lot, it’s also a hindrance. The bible addresses this issue of worry numerous times. For example, Matthew 6:34: “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

So what the heck am I doing? and how the heck do I stop? I would love to take a step back and enjoy life for what it is now, not what it might be tomorrow. I know my life will be great. God promises that in Jeremiah 29:11. So why am I so concerned with the way things will work out?

Most adults would say these next few years will be the best years of my life. So why do I want to rush through them? Why am I so thankful this semester is half-way over? WHY DO I FEEL THE NEED TO BE GROWN UP?

I love being young. Now, I just need to learn how to enjoy it to the fullest.

Love,
Kendra Leigh Worsnup

1 comment
  1. Perri Collins said:

    This reminds me of the movie BIG. Tom Hanks was so obsessed with becoming an adult, that he neglected to take the time to enjoy his childhood. But when he was big and tried to enjoy playing and carrying on, it wasn’t the same. Look, I’m telling you from experience, you better take advantage of these Peter Pan years now and stop worrying so much about the future. You don’t want to regret it.

Leave a Reply

