Beautifying the heart.

How do you spend your time? This is one question they asked at church this weekend that really made me think. Their point was how much time are we spending on our outside appearance and how much time are we spending on the inside? I felt convicted. In the morning, I spend approximately 10  minutes in the bible. Then an hour trying to get as decent looking as I can. But what matters more? Although being presentable is important for everyone, it’s not what people will remember most about you. Think about this, at funerals, what do people talk about? For those of you at Matthew’s funeral this past weekend, what was the topic? How amazing of a person he was. Exactly.

So this morning, I am spending an hour working on beautifying my heart. I read the bible, I prayed, I listened to worship music, and now I am writing this blog to share my thoughts with you. And let me tell you, I feel so much more awake, so much more positive than I ever feel after looking in the mirror and realizing my make-up is just right. It feels so much better to feel good on the inside.

And now that I’ve shared that with you, I want to share some of my favorite bible verses. I found a paper in my bible this morning that I wrote on my way home from Panama. It has 13 chunks of scripture that inspire me and remind me of who God is and who I am supposed to be (the photo below is of that paper sitting on my bible.) Hopefully they mean as much to you as they do to me….

“Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and mutual edification” -Romans 14:9
Christians, that means STOP JUDGING people and love them. Take note that I do not mean to be tolerant of sin. Just be tolerant of people. Love them and welcome them with open arms.

“Each of you should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in various forms,” -1 Peter 4:10

“Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day He visits us,” – 1 Peter 2:11-12

“Put to death whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry… Rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from  your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices,” – Colossians 3:5, 8-9

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you: He will never let the righteous fall.” -Psalm 55:22

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9
Remember this if you ever feel “not good enough” or weary or weak, because it is then that God can truly reveal himself as powerful in your life.

“Come near to God and He will come near to you.” – James 4:8
You can’t expect to miraculously have the most amazing relationship with Christ. Just like all relationships here on earth, they on function if both parts put in the effort necessarily for the relationship to flourish. Your relationship with God is no different. If you push close to God, He will run at you full force and grasp you in His arms in a way that is indescribable.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up,” -Galatians 6:9

“Though you have not seen Him, you love Him; and even though you do not see Him now, you believe in Him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy.” – 1 Peter 1:8
I sure am :)

“God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; Never will I forsake you.’ So we say with confidence ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?'” -Hebrews 13:5-6
Not to say nothing bad will ever happen to you on earth! But no one on earth can take away your salvation, which is far more spectacular than anything else!

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” -Hebrews 12:2-3

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” – 2 Corinthians 4:18
This is sort of what I was talking about in the beginning of this post.

“If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.” – 2 Corinthians 4:18

Have a great day! and Remember: “Today is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!” Psalm 118:24

Love,
Kendra Leigh Worsnup

2 comments
  1. Toad Wilks said:

    May the gates of hell be shut continually before me, because that my aheart is broken and my spirit is contrite! O Lord, wilt thou not shut the gates of thy righteousness before me, that I may walk in the path of the low valley, that I may be strict in the plain road!

  2. Heather Bautista said:

    That was very nice I enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

